It’s everywhere. Cereal, vitamins, marshmallows, candy, desserts, frosting, yogurt, gel capsules, …
Gelatin is hidden in a lot of foods you wouldn’t consider a problem for vegetarians. Actually, anything “gummy” probably has gelatin. It’s hidden in all kinds of foods. We check the ingredients of everything that may contain it. It’s even hidden in gummy vitamins or capsules of some medications – so we don’t buy those brands. It makes shopping very difficult.
Simply put, “Gelatin is an animal by-product sourced from animal hooves, bones, cartilages, and other parts of abattoir meat leftovers. As such, it’s not appropriate for anyone whose diet excludes animal derived products or products from animals killed for consumption.” (Source below*)
And, we prefer not to eat it. We often have to explain our food choices but this one is hard. It’s hidden in all kinds of foods. But, the good news, there are lots of substitutes. Guar gum, xanthan gum, and arrowroot are some of the most popular if baking at home. There is also a plant based gelatin on the market.
If you’re interested in other hidden animal products or more substitute ideas here is a good article: http://www.squidoo.com/animal-ingredients.